Win A Sighed Copy of THE OUTCASTS by Award-Winning Author Misty Hayes!

Win A Sighed Copy of THE OUTCASTS by Award-Winning Author Misty Hayes!

CLICK HERE TO ENTER THE GIVEAWAY!

The Blood Dagger Trilogy Boxset: The Complete Series: (The Outcasts, The Watchers, Tree of Souls)

This digital boxset includes all three books in The Blood Dagger series and contains over 1,400 pages of magic, heroism, and strong protagonists who have a bit of snark-perfect for fans of Mortal Instruments and the CW's Supernatural. Save money by reading the entire trilogy in this special bundle deal!

$0.99 For A LIMITED TIME!!!
Get Your Copy Here
Amazon | B&N | Kobo | iTunes

______

Our Review Of THE OUTCASTS, Book One:

Excerpt From The Watchers: The Blood Dagger Volume 2

Rough hands tore at my bonds, and before I knew it, he was dragging me across hard concrete, and then hauling me onto that steel table, using inhuman strength to do it. Eight months ago, Al had broken my arm. Well, technically, I'd broken my own arm in order to save my little sister's life. It had taken time to heal. Ever since then, I'd been working out to gain strength and muscle back. Larna had also convinced me to incorporate boxing into my training regimen. I may look scrawny, but I had packed on a lot of lean muscle because of it.

Using the element of surprise, I struck out blindly, catching him on the side of his face. As soon as he staggered back, I started yanking off the strap on my left arm. Once I was free, I threw a leg over the table only to catch a vicious blow to the stomach. As I doubled over in shock and pain, he shoved me back down, strapping me once again to the tabletop in a fraction of a second.

“You have a strong right,” he grumbled, “but not strong enough.”

“No offense …” I wheezed, “but you don't have a strong anything …”

His eyes flashed—the telltale sign of impending vampire Sight. His face lit up in the darkness. It was the eeriest shade of blue I'd ever seen, making him look that much more menacing. I wondered if his compulsion would work on me. Larna had tried to compel me back when she confessed the truth about being a vamp, but it hadn't stuck. I was hoping it wouldn't now either. My stomach did a frantic flip at the prospect of not knowing what would happen. Would he take control of me? Was this how I would die? Being turned into a mindless zombie that felt no pain … Actually, that part didn't sound too bad. If I could pretend to do whatever he asked, he might be less guarded, maybe make a mistake. All I had to do was wait for an opportunity to present itself. 

I felt the bizarre pull of compulsion as he whispered, “No hard feelings, mate.” Mind control felt foreign and wrong—a mental invasion of the worst kind. If he was trying to be stealthy inside my head, it wasn't working. He was Godzilla, except instead of a village, he was stomping through my most precious thoughts and memories. I gasped in fright at the mental invasion.

Once he thought he had me, he whispered, “Tell me where the blade is.”

I sagged back, letting the cold steel from the table seep through my shirt. I shivered uncontrollably—that is, until something happened that I hadn't been expecting—

I arched up off the table, my eyes matching his in intensity and fire and something else. To my sudden and overwhelming surprise, I found I could see. At first, I thought someone had switched on a light. Except that wasn't the case at all, it was still dark, but I could see as clearly as if it were daylight. I sucked in a sharp breath, glancing around in astonishment. We were in the basement of a mechanical room; that much I knew for certain. There was oversized, dank machinery; concrete conduits and metal piping overhead that snaked through the rafters in the ceiling. I listened to the soft plink of condensation dripping from the pipes across the room; heard the tiny susurrations made by the bats that I now knew were hanging above me. The tang of mildew and mold overpowered the rest of my senses. I was surprised at how much I'd been missing out on by being human—if this was vampire Sight, that is.

The bounty hunter's face went slack, and he dropped his hands from around my neck. The sudden movement drew my eye back to him. He slumped over right as my eyes flared brighter, his Sight dissipating and mine increasing.

My voice came out in a dry rasp as I said, “Untie me.”

He reached over and pulled at the leather straps on my wrists, doing exactly as I had asked. Holy Caesar's ghost—this was new and completely unexpected. I had the power of vampire compulsion.

As soon as I was free, I ducked out of his grasp, hopping off the table as quickly as my body would allow. I was stiff from being tied up so when I hit the ground my legs almost buckled out from under me. My Sight sputtered and winked out like a dying battery on a flashlight. I couldn't hold on to the compulsion. There was too much raw power flooding through me and I had no idea how to control it. As soon as it fled, the darkness spiraled back up to greet me like an old friend. Darkness and I were most definitely not friends.

A spike of fear shot up my spine as I staggered, my legs bumping against the edge of the gurney. The stretcher slid forward on squeaky wheels. I put a hand out on it in order to right myself. Where was the exit again? The voice inside my head screamed for me to get out now. I should have been running, rather than stumbling around in confusion, but I felt disconnected from my own body. This was my waking nightmare. An extra dose of anxiety hit me as I imagined my captor regaining use of his faculties again. I imagined his skeletal hands coming to claim what he thought was rightfully his—me.

And then my fears turned into reality as something hard hit the back of my head and I fell to a knee.

Before succumbing to the dark once again, I heard a new voice say, “What are you?”

______

Meet Author Misty Hayes

Misty Hayes has always had a thing for escaping headfirst into fantastical books. This is what led her to start writing her own adventures down. As someone who has spent a long career in law enforcement, Misty has a love for strong female protagonists. She also directs short films and claims to have been bitten by the traveling bug (not to be mistaken for a radioactive spider).

When Misty isn't filming or roaming the planet, or diving into another novel, she's spending time at home in Texas with her myriad of nieces and nephews in tow.

The Blood Dagger Series is a multiple award-winning high-octane Young Adult Paranormal trilogy.

The Outcasts has received recognition for a Literary Titan award, IndieBRAG Medallion, 2018 solo medalist winner of the New Apple Literary Awards for YA Fantasy, and 2019 2nd place winner of the North Texas Book Festival in YA Fantasy.

Follow Misty for more information on her award-winning series.

Interview with Misty Hayes:

Q: Hi Misty! Thanks for hanging out with us. Can you tell our readers a little about yourself?

MH:  My name is Misty Hayes. Yes, that's my real name. I write Young Adult Fantasy and Paranormal. My latest series (and only series, for right now ;-)) is called The Blood Dagger trilogy. I just finished the last book: Tree of Souls, which came out in December of 2019. Gosh, that seems like such a lifetime ago! I said I was going to take a break after working seven long years on the series, and what do I do … keep right on working as soon as I hit the publish button. I live in North Texas with my rescue parakeet, I aptly named Peeta from The Hunger Games.
 
Q For those who are new to your books, what is the story about?
 
MY:  The Outcasts is the first book in The Blood Dagger trilogy. When eighteen-year-old Larna Collins finds her father’s journal hidden away under the floor, it leads her to a small village in England — inhabited by vampires and full of deadly secrets… it's a vampire tale unlike any other–full of mystical relics, hunky but strange allies, and a whole lot of trouble. And that villain, y'all. He's worth the read alone.
 
Q: Tell us about your heroine. What inspired her quirks and struggles?
 
MY:  I love to write strong female protagonists. Of course, they're not always that way at the beginning of the story, as is in Larna's case. She is the definition of quirky, snarky, and the troubled teen. She is a pop culture queen and a lovable nerd at heart. Larna has a lot of growing up to do. I hope to convey to young readers (and readers of all ages, really) that it's okay to stumble in life. To not be perfect. To realize the journey is the destination. If you're looking for the beautiful heroine who has it all together, this is not that series (although everyone possesses beauty, in my opinion).
 
Q:  Is any part of your story or the characters based on personal experience?

MY:  When Larna is being bullied and teased at school in the first book, she has gum thrown in her hair … so, that happened to me in real life, when I was in high school. A girl looked me dead in the eye, and as I was walking by, took her gum out of her mouth and chunked it in my hair. There was no real rhyme or reason to it, we didn't have it out for each other (I can't even remember her name); she just wanted to do it to be mean. I needed to draw on my own personal experiences to get the feeling down, it was a tough scene to get right. I take this as my win, 'cause I was able to draw on those feelings in my own writing. See, silver-lining to everything.
 
Q: Name a few of your favorite authors or books.
 
MY:  Growing up, I read The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis from cover-to-cover. Then I switched to Stephen King and got my daily dose of terror on. I think IT was my fave book for a number of years. Today, I love The Dresden Files by Jim Butcher because his protag, Harry Dresden, has such a strong, snarky voice. Imagine that …
 
Thanks so much for having me, Jen. You can find my books at MistyHayesAuthor.com or on your favorite reading platform. Sign up for our mailing list to keep in touch: http://eepurl.com/dg029j
 
 
______

Click Here To Enter The Giveaway!

JD Brown

Leave a Reply